Askese ~ asceticism

If asceticism is not practiced with real joy, it takes away our vitality. But if the joy for life drives us to asceticism, it leads us to inner freedom, to a zest for life and into a vitality that spreads and helps others.

~ Anselm Grün ~

I am very thankful not to be forced to live a frugal life, because then I think I would find it harder to practice asceticism with joy. Because I have the freedom to choose where to save, which areas of my life to slow down and what to simplify, this quote really expresses my feelings towards my lifestyle. Probably it does not really make economical sense to grow a few tomatoes or to handknit socks, but the inner freedom and lust for life I find through these choices is priceless.

~~~

Wenn Askese nicht mit echter Freude geübt wird, raubt sie uns die Lebendigkeit. Wenn aber die Freude am Leben uns zur Askese treibt, dann führt sie uns in die innere Freiheit, zur Lust am Leben und in eine Lebendigkeit hinein, die ansteckt und auch anderen hilft.

~ Anselm Grün ~

Ich bin sehr dankbar, nicht zur Sparsamkeit gezwungen zu sein, denn dann würde es mir wohl schwerer fallen, Freude an der Askese zu finden. Aber da ich die Freiheit habe mir auszusuchen, welche Lebensbereiche ich verlangsamen und vereinfachen will, finde ich mich in diesem Zitat wieder. Es macht wahrscheinlich wirtschaftlich keinen Sinn, Tomaten zu ziehen und Socken zu stricken, aber die Lebensfreude die es mir schenkt ist unbezahlbar.

7 Gedanken zu “Askese ~ asceticism

  1. Ganz Deiner Meinung! Kein Smartphone zu haben würde ich hier abheften ; ) ist zwar definitiv ein tolles Spielzeug, aber dass es das Leben entschleunigt kann ich ganz und gar nicht unterschreiben!
    Grüße Dich
    Nike

    • Ich wurde schon häufiger gefragt, warum ich mir denn die Arbeit mache, sei es beim Brot backen oder beim Stricken. Es wäre doch so viel bequemer und oft sogar günstiger alles zu kaufen. Deshalb der Gedanke der Askese, denn auf solche Bequemlichkeiten verzichte ich hin und wieder gerne.

  2. followed over from soulemama, glad I did! I love your virtual space here. I completely agree with you- I’m sure I spent way more than I needed to grow a handful of veggie and herbs in pots around the backyard, but I love the freedom to do such just for some meditative moments gardening. And when I do need to pinch a penny, I’m glad I’ll have a tomatoes in the backyard.🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

