Wie aus einem Haus unser Zuhause wurde ~ A house that became our home

It takes a year for me to feel at home in a new house, even if it is located in the same city as the place where we lived before. Only now that I see the leaves in our garden turn yellow once again and that I can smell the chilly autumn air here for the second time I start to really feel a sense of belonging to this place.

One year ago, we had spent two weeks of frantic renovations to at least have the floors ready, so that we could move in within our extremely tight deadline. If I would have known how long it would take us to get this place into a state where we would consider it good enough, or how much work would go into it, I would have been terrified. I think J. new what this renovation would mean and I am forever grateful that he anyway went for it, especially as most of the hard work was done by him in the end.

Now that a year has passed, I know that after a long day at work I have a home to retreat to.

~~~

Ich brauche ein Jahr um mich in einem Haus wirklich zuhause zu fühlen. Erst jetzt, wo sich die Jahreszeiten wiederholen habe ich das Gefühl, hierhin zu gehören. Die Luft riecht nach Herbst, genau wie letztes Jahr um diese Zeit, als wir unter größtem Zeitdruck unser Häuschen renovierten.

Beim Einzug waren wir froh, zumindest die Decken gestrichen und die Böden verlegt zu haben. Es folgten ein Herbst, Winter und Frühling voller Renovierungen, bis wir irgendwann im Sommer endlich entschieden, dass es jetzt gut genug ist. Schließlich wohnen wir zur Miete, so dass wir immer abwägen müssen, ob sich die Investitionen an Geld und Arbeit noch lohnen. Ich weiß nicht, ich mich dieser Aufgabe gestellt hätte, wenn ich um ihr Ausmaß gewusst hätte und bin J. umso dankbarer weil ich glaube, dass er sich sehr wohl über die Menge an Arbeit im Klaren war und weil er die schwersten Arbeiten übernommen hat.

Jetzt wo unser erstes Jahr in unserem Häuschen vergangen ist, weiß ich dass mich nach einem langen Tag auf der Arbeit ein Zuhause, ein Rückzugsort erwartet.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

