Ein Hochzeitsquilt ~ A Wedding Quilt

Last Saturday a friend of mine got married, the first one from my friends back home. The bride looked stunning, the celebration was a success and the wedding ceremony itself brought tears to my eyes. Seems like we are really growing up now.

When I received the invitation in May, I thought that five months would be more than enough to learn quilting and to make a wedding quilt for the couple. Of course I widely underestimated the scope of the project and the last week I spent one late night after another in front of my sewing machine.

I am very happy with the result though and I think the newly weds like it as well. On Sunday I was actually wishing for a comfort blanket myself: The day after partying all night is also not what it used to be when I was younger.

I took the inspiration for the quilt from the book Quilts Made Modern by Weeks Ringle (who also blogs at Craft Nectar) and Bill Kerr.

~~~

The quilt has feet! ~ Der Quilt hat Füße!

Am Wochenende hat eine Freundin von mir geheiratet, die erste aus meinem Freundeskreis von früher. Die Braut war wunderschön, die Feier rundum gelungen und als das Brautpaar vor dem Traualtar stand, ging mir das doch sehr nahe. So langsam werden wir wohl wirklich erwachsen.

Als ich im März die Einladung zur Hochzeit bekam, dachte ich mir dass fünf Monate wohl bequem ausreichen müssten, um quilten zu lernen und einen Hochzeitsquilt anzufertigen. Wie so oft wenn ich mir ein Projekt vornehme wurde jedoch ich bald eines besseren gelehrt und in der letzten Woche saß ich jeden Abend noch bis spät in die Nacht an der Nähmaschine.

Aber mit dem Resultat bin ich sehr zufrieden und ich glaube die Frischvermählten haben sich auch über ihr Geschenk gefreut. Obwohl ich am Sonntag nach der Feier selbst ganz gut eine Kuscheldecke gebraucht hätte. Eine Nacht durchfeiern geht eben auch nicht mehr so spurlos an mir vorüber wie früher.

Die Inspiration für den Quilt kommt aus dem Buch Quilts Made Modern von Weeks Ringle (der Blog Autorin von Craft Nectar) und Bill Kerr.

7 Gedanken zu “Ein Hochzeitsquilt ~ A Wedding Quilt

  1. DAS SIEHT SO TOLL AUS!!!!!

    Sehr gut gemacht, liebste Schwesta!

    Ich melde mich traditioneller und länger bald…so bald ich ein bisschen platz im kopf habe🙂

    deine Anna

  2. Pingback: Dankbarkeit ~ Gratitude « Langsam Leben

Schreibe einen Kommentar

