Erdbeer Rhababer Kompott ~ Strawberry Rhubarb Dessert

I found strawberries and rhubarb at the supermarket the other day and thought it was time for a childhood favorite: stewed rhubarb and strawberries with vanilla sauce. Unfortunately I got so caught up in action that I didn’t take any pictures of the process. The photo below doesn’t do the dessert any justice, but take my word for it, it’s delicious.

~

800 g rhubarb, peeled and cut into 1 inch pieces

300 g strawberries, cleaned and cut in fourths

2 tbs sugar

some lemon juice

In a large saucepan, mix rhubarb, lemon juice and sugar. Set aside for an hour, then boil up. Lower the heat to let the rhubarb gently simmer for a few minutes. Take the it off the stove and add strawberries. Let the dessert cool down.

~

150 ml cream

100 ml milk

2 whisked egg yolks

2 tbs sugar

1-2 tsp vanilla extract

Boil up cream, milk, sugar and vanilla extract in a saucepan. Let the sauce cool and once lukewarm, slowly add the whisked egg yolks. Heat up the sauce again and keep whisking until the sauce starts to thicken. Be careful not to let it boil. Let the sauce cool slowly, stirring from time to time.

Pour vanilla sauce over the stewed rhubarb and strawberries and serve ice-cold.

~~~

Als ich letztens Rhababer und Erdbeeren im Supermarkt sah wusste ich, dass es mal wieder Zeit ist für einen meiner Lieblingsnachtische aus Kindertagen: Erdbeer Rhababer Kompott mit Vanillesauce. Und da ich hier nur Fla, aber keine fertige Vanillesauce finden konnte wagte ich mich zum ersten Mal daran, selbst welche zu kochen. Ich glaube ich will nie wieder gekaufte essen, so lecker war das.

~

800 g Rhababer, geschält und in 2cm Stückchen geschnitten

300 g Erdbeeren, gewaschen und halbiert

2 EL Zucker

etwas Zitronensaft

Den Rhababer in einen großen Topf geben und mit Zucker und Zitronensaft für etwa eine Stunde beiseite stellen. Kurz aufkochen und für einige Minuten schwach köcheln lassen, bis der Rhababer zerfällt. Den Topf vom Herd nehmen, die Erdbeeren unterrühren und das Kompott abkühlen lassen.

~

150 ml Sahne

100 ml Milch

2 Eigelb

2 EL Zucker

1-2 TL Vanille Extrakt (oder weniger Zucker und 2 Päckchen Bourbon Vanille Zucker)

Sahne, Milch, Zucker und Vanille Extrakt in einem Topf aufkochen und dann abkühlen lassen. Die Eigelb verquirlen und vorsichtig unter die lauwarme Sauce schlagen. Unter Rühren langsam erwärmen bis sie leicht andickt, aber bevor sie kocht. Den Topf vom Herd nehmen und die Sauce langsam abkühlen lassen. Weiterhin von Zeit zu Zeit rühren.

Die Vanille Sauce über das eiskalte Erdbeer Rhababer Kompott geben und den Frühsommer genießen.

3 Gedanken zu “Erdbeer Rhababer Kompott ~ Strawberry Rhubarb Dessert

  1. Oh, wie sieht das lecker aus. Sofort werde ich auch diese leckere Vanillesauce probieren.
    Es macht mir immer wieder Freude in Deinem Blog zu lesen und die schönen Bilder zu genießen und es berührt mich sehr.
    Liebe Grüße
    Deine Mama

Schreibe einen Kommentar

