Mein frühreifer Vorgarten ~ Front yard flowers

When we moved into our little house last fall, my only gardening goal for the rest of 2010 was to make the front yard look inviting and friendly for spring. I didn’t dare to tackle the back yard yet (and had enough indoors to do), but the front yard seemed to have a manageable size. It was overgrown with weeds and there was even a little beech tree growing in it, so I decided to give it a fresh start, leaving almost no plants in it.

My plan was to plant flower bulbs and then later fill the bed with sun loving herbs, as the front yard is facing south. At the garden center I got slightly carried away with all the beautiful variations and somehow ended up with enough bulbs to fill the entire garden, front and back. Almost all of them went into the front yard anyway, who new how many would sprout in the end? I had it all nicely planned, yellow flowers around Easter, orange ones for Queens day at April 30th and so forth.

When spring came I quickly noticed that all flowers were way ahead of time, the pictures show it a week ago and then last weekend. Seems like my garden taught me some first lessons:

  • A raised bed, that is facing south and attached to the house will provide the heat for an early start to the growing season. To make it extra cozy the windows reflect the sun and inside there are heaters underneath the windows.
  • Regular flower bulbs from the garden center will sprout. Probably almost all of them.
  • The date for Easter changes, flowering seasons don’t so much. Who would have thought that Easter can be as late as it is this year?
  • It really doesn’t matter if nothing goes as planned. Nature herself makes the most beautiful combinations, and I think I reached my initial goal of an inviting front yard.

~~~

Als wir im letzten Herbst in unser Häuschen gezogen sind, war mein einziges Garten-Ziel für 2010 das Vorgärtchen aufzuräumen. Der Garten war so verwildert, dass er mich etwas einschüchterte, aber ich wollte im Frühjahr zumindest zur Straße hin ein einladendes Bild haben. Der Vorgarten war jedoch ebenfalls völlig überwuchert mit Immergrün, verschiedensten Wildkräutern und Gräsern –  sogar eine etwa ein Meter hohe Buche wuchs aus dem Beet.

Da das Beet nach Süden zeigt, wollte ich die Sonne und Wärme später für mediterrane Kräuter nutzen und vorerst Blumenzwiebeln für den Frühling stecken. Bei meiner Einkaufstour im Gartencenter überkam mich dann der erste Gärtner Kaufrausch meines Lebens und ich hatte mehr als genug Blumenzwiebeln für den gesamten Garten, alle fein säuberlich nach Blühperioden und Farbkombinationen geordnet: Gelb für die Osterzeit, Orange zum Koniginnendag am 30. April und so weiter. Sie kamen dann doch fast alle in den Vorgarten, wer weiss denn schon wie viele bei eine Neu-Gärtnerin am Ende aufgehen?

Als dann der Frühling kam, standen bei mir die Krokusse in voller Blüte, während im Rest der Stadt gerade die ersten Knospen aus der Erde schauten. Seitdem ist mein Vorgärtchen die reinste Farbexplosion. Die Fotos zeigen ihn vor gut einer Woche und am letzten Wochenende.  Also hat mir mein Garten direkt mit meinem ersten Projekt ein paar Lektionen erteilt:

  • Ein nach Süden weisendes Beet auf einer Ebene mit den Fenstern und direkt am Haus hat im Frühling einen enormen Vorsprung. Zusätzlich reflektieren die grossen Fenster noch die Sonne und von innen sind natuerlich Heizungen vor dem Fenster.
  • Blumenzwiebeln aus dem Gartencenter gehen fast alle auf, auch bei Neu-Gärtnerinnen.
  • Ostern ist manchmal ganz schön spät im Jahr und die Blumen scheint das nicht zu kümmern.
  • Selbst wenn alles anders kommt als geplant: die Natur macht sowieso die schönsten Kombinationen. Und mein eigentliches Ziel, einen freundlichen Vorgarten im Frühling, hab ich wohl erreicht.

6 Gedanken zu “Mein frühreifer Vorgarten ~ Front yard flowers

  1. Schon wieder so schöne Bilder und ich komme mit dem Lesen und Schauen schon fast nicht hinterher.
    Bin gespannt auf die nächsten Bilder!

  2. Such a lovely story and your garden is perfection. You must have been so pleased with the reults. Hope to see the back garden when you have it ready. Beautiful photos too. Katie x

    • Thank you! At the moment all the beauty is gone, we had the driest April in 30 years and while all the tulips are gone, there are no perrennials yet to fill the space. I will have to come up with something else for summer…

  3. Pingback: Im Garten ~ Around the Garden | Langsam Leben

Schreibe einen Kommentar

